Move LA Team

Executive Director
310-310-2390 x 101

Denny created Move LA in 2007 to bring together business, labor and environmental leaders and organizations with the goal of raising significant new funding for LA County’s transit system. This coalition helped lead the campaign for the Measure R sales tax, and proved to be a powerful force in getting Measure R on the 2008 ballot and winning its passage, with the result that LA has embarked on an ambitious build-out of its transportation system. Previously Denny served on the Santa Monica City Council, including one term as mayor, during which time he initiated the revitalization of the Third Street Promenade. He wrote much of the land use policy for Santa Monica’s downtown, emphasizing pedestrian amenities, mixed-use development, and effective transit access — before these policies became known as “smart growth.” Denny was also executive director of the Coalition for Clean Air, and began his career by founding Santa Monicans for Renters Rights in the late ’70s, a progressive community coalition that has held a city council majority in Santa Monica for 24 of the last 30 years.


Administrative Manager
310-310-2390 x 105

Marisa grew up near two busy freeways in a city in Southeast LA County that is heavily impacted by air pollution, and she is all too aware of the harm that our overdependence on cars has caused Southern California residents. She is asthmatic, and reducing the air pollution and traffic congestion that plagues Los Angeles by providing people with alternative transportation choices is an issue that is near and dear to her heart. Since joining the Move LA team her commitment to helping transform LA County’s transportation system has become significantly stronger, and she can’t wait to see what the future holds for communities like the one where she grew up.


Director of Policy and Communications
310-310-2390 x 103

Gloria has worked on issues related to transit and transit-oriented development at the national and local levels for many years. She was a founding member of the Center for Transit-Oriented Development, which was funded by Congress to promote best practices in TOD; worked on the H+T (housing and transportation) affordability index now used by HUD to prioritize housing projects for funding; and she worked on an early Southern California demonstration project of the location efficient mortgage, which was the precursor to the H+T index. Since joining Move LA she has worked on implementing SB 375, which seeks to reduce GHG emissions by reducing driving, and on thinking through how we ensure the creation of affordable, livable, prosperous neighborhoods along the transit system we are building out with funding from the Measure R sales tax. Previously she was a vice president at the national nonprofit Reconnecting America, and has authored many publications on transit and TOD.

 Eli-Lipmen-e1497550147752.jpgELI LIPMEN
Director of Development and Programming
310-310-2390 x 104

Eli served on the Leadership Board of Move LA for over six years, working to bring new stakeholder groups into the coalition and campaigning for Measure M. He joined Move LA in August 2017 to work on fundraising, advocacy, and organizing strategy. Eli has worked with nonprofits large and small to improve donor engagement and outreach efforts, including the Los Angeles Regional Food Bank, AJC, Homeless Health Care Los Angeles. In 2014, he wrote and designed a major white paper on hunger in Los Angeles County and has worked on legislation on the local, state and federal level on issues ranging from human rights to the environment.

Eli attended the University of Southern California’s Annenberg School for Communications and the London School of Economics where he studied global media and communications. He serves on the Los Angeles City Commission overseeing local Neighborhood Councils, the largest system to integrate grassroots democracy into local governance in the United States. And Eli is a fierce advocate for Move LA's mission; his family of five lives in the Palms neighborhood in the City of Los Angeles, between two Expo Line station, and gave up their second car in 2016 to walk, bike, and ride Metro around LA.


Inland Empire Outreach Coordinator

Marven Norman got his start in transportation planning and advocacy through the world of bicycle advocacy. As an avid bicyclist, he soon became interested in seeking out ways to improve the experience of bicycling in the Inland Empire of Southern California. While working with bike advocates, Mr. Norman became increasingly familiar with the nexus between biking, transit, and improved mobility for all. As a result, he broadened his efforts advocacy efforts to include opportunities that bring more options to connect people to their jobs, schools, and other important places in their lives. Mr. Norman provides a unique perspective on providing the mobility options that people demand as a viable part of a broader transportation network that improves safety and reduces pollutants in the process.


Board President: Marlene Grossman
– Move LA
Allan Alexander – Attorney and former mayor of Beverly Hills
Darrell Clarke – Friends 4 Expo and Sierra Club
Patrick Duan - BYD
Jessica Duboff
LA Area Chamber of Commerce
Diane Forte-
Southern California Edison
Matthew Gaines – International Union of Operating Engineers, Local 12
David Grannis - pointC
Victor Griego – WELL
Art Hadnett – HNTB
Kevin Harbour - BizFed
Jim Hilfenhaus
– Community Activist
David Jacot Los Angeles Department of Water & Power
Kat Janowicz – 3COTECH
Hart Keeble – Ironworkers Local 416
Mark KemptonKempton Strategies
Kokayi Kwa Jitahidi
LA County Federation of Labor
Joan Ling
– Retired, former affordable housing developer and member of the board of commissioners of the Community Redevelopment Agency of the City of LA County
Allan Marks – Milbank
Wally Marks Walter N. Marks Realty Inc.
James Watt McCormick
– Subway to the Sea Coalition
Ron Miller – LA/OC Building & Construction Trades Council
Rani Narula-Woods - LA Metro
Todd Olson - The Olson Company
Francine Oschin
– Valley Industry and Commerce Association
Jonathan Parfrey – Climate Resolve
Tanya Peacock - Southern California Gas Company
Joyce Perkins – Co-Founder & Board Member, Los Angeles Neighborhood Initiative
Sergio Rascon – LiUNA Local 300
Dan Rosenfeld – George Crenshaw Development Company
Antonio Sanchez IBEW Local 11
Tom SardoJacobs
Mike Schneider
– Infrastrategies LLC
Tom Shrout - Former Chair, Center for Transportation Excellence
Debra Shrout -
Schools on Wheels
Michael Soloff -
Munger Tolles & Olson, LLP
Daniel Tabor – Former mayor of the City of Inglewood
Dan Tenenbaum – Pacific Crest Realty

Move LA is a project of Community Partners.

Donate Volunteer Find an Event


get updates