Please support AB 17: student transit passes

Dear Governor Brown:

Please support Assembly Bill 17 (D-Holden) to create a new generation of transit users, help underserved students, reduce the number of cars on the road, decrease vehicle miles traveled, and thereby make real cuts in Greenhouse Gas Emissions.

AB 17 passed with bipartisan support in both the Assembly (76-3) and Senate (37-3) to provide reduced-cost transit passes to public college and university students, as well as middle school and high school students.

We must take every viable step we can to build ridership and maximize vehicle trip reduction and legitimate our large-scale investments in infrastructure, from high-speed rail to local transit systems. Therefore, it is important to encourage transit use amongst future generations if California is going shift away from single-occupancy vehicles, reduce traffic, fulfill our State's commitment to reducing carbon and achieve the agreed upon reductions in the Paris Climate Accord. Well-designed student pass programs have been shown to significantly increase student ridership and to significantly reduce the cost of an education—as well as GHG emissions and air pollution.

In addition, students face high barriers to access their education and if we can lower one of many by reducing the cost of transportation to and from their school, we can help reduce absenteeism and increase enrollment at schools across this State. This is particularly true in our public community college system where a recent study in Los Angeles found 1 in 5 students were homeless and in need of assistance for costs beyond tuition.

We are counting on your support to sign AB 17 and provide a transit pass program for California’s hard-working students and as a tool for fighting climate change.



Who's signing

Aidyn Cooper
Samantha Vega
Justin Blakely
Oscar Adan Cruz Rodriguez
Zefyr Scott
Chris Cusack
Marcos Montes
Jasmine Salgado
Donald Shoup
Fernando Cazares
Jonathan Parfrey
Eli Lipmen
Mademoiselle Nonles
Jennifer Ortega
Sean Mohr
Jordanne Deneiva
Dana Saydak
Bao Mai
Jessica Wu
Lea Encina
Andrea Fleck
433 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Aidyn Cooper
    signed via 2017-07-10 12:27:33 -0700
  • Samantha Vega
    signed via 2017-07-10 12:24:32 -0700
  • Justin Blakely
    signed via 2017-07-10 12:02:24 -0700
  • Oscar Adan Cruz Rodriguez
    signed via 2017-07-10 11:50:23 -0700
  • Zefyr Scott
    signed 2017-07-10 11:32:21 -0700
  • Chris Cusack
    signed via 2017-07-09 17:19:51 -0700
  • Marcos Montes
    signed via 2017-07-07 19:05:24 -0700
  • Jasmine Salgado
    signed via 2017-07-07 14:11:27 -0700
  • Donald Shoup
    signed via 2017-07-07 12:05:55 -0700
  • Fernando Cazares
    signed via 2017-07-07 11:34:58 -0700
  • Jonathan Parfrey
    signed via 2017-07-07 11:21:02 -0700
  • Armando A. Garcia
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-07-07 11:17:07 -0700
    Sign the petition: California State Senators: Please vote YES on AB 17 to support student transit passes
  • Eli Lipmen
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-07-07 11:12:04 -0700
    Sign the petition: California State Senators: Please vote YES on AB 17 to support student transit passes
  • Eli Lipmen
    signed via 2017-07-07 11:11:49 -0700
  • Mademoiselle Nonles
    signed via 2017-07-07 09:23:58 -0700
  • Marisa Garcia
    published this page 2017-07-07 09:14:41 -0700
  • Jennifer Ortega
    signed via 2017-07-06 21:09:33 -0700
  • Sean Mohr
    signed via 2017-07-06 20:02:25 -0700
  • Jordanne Deneiva
    signed via 2017-07-06 17:04:01 -0700
  • Dana Saydak
    signed 2017-07-06 16:56:28 -0700
  • Bao Mai
    signed via 2017-07-06 16:55:09 -0700
  • Jessica Wu
    signed via 2017-07-06 16:42:20 -0700
  • Lea Encina
    signed via 2017-07-06 14:52:42 -0700
  • Andrea Fleck
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-07-06 14:48:36 -0700
    Sign the petition: Please vote YES on AB 17 to support student transit passes
  • Andrea Fleck
    signed 2017-07-06 14:46:12 -0700

Donate Volunteer Find an Event


get updates