Registration (8:00 am)
Welcome (8:30 am) Marlene Grossman, Move LA Leadership Board Chair
Denny Zane, Executive Director, Move LA

Morning Keynote (8:45 am)
Robbie Hunter, State Building & Construction Trades Council of California
The Next Step for LA’s Transit Revolution: A View from the Labor Movement

Post Measure J: Big Picture Politics of Money for Transportation (9:10 am)
Denny Zane, Move LA — Framer & Moderator
What are the next steps for accelerating Measure R?
•  How can we make federal opportunities real? America Fast Forward Bonds? National Infrastructure Development Bank? The next transportation reauthorization bill?
•  With the State in the black, what are the new opportunities: 55% local voter threshold? Vehicle License Fee surcharge? Cap & trade funds? A new form of redevelopment? Statewide transportation bonds?
•  What is the role of CA High Speed Rail in LA County? Can we modernize Metrolink?

Assemblymember Bob Blumenfield, Los Angeles
Maria Elena Durazo, Secretary-Treasurer, LA County Federation of Labor
Richard Katz, Metrolink Board Chair, LA Metro Board
Art Leahy, CEO, LA Metro
Mary Leslie, President, LA Business Council
Adriano Martinez, Staff Attorney, Natural Resources Defense Council
Ron Miller, Executive Secretary, LA & Orange Counties Building & Construction Trades Council
Tracy Rafter, LA County Business Federation
Gary Toebben, CEO, LA Area Chamber of Commerce

Making the Transit Revolution Real and Fair (10:20 am)
Beth Steckler, Move LA - Moderator
•  What are the tools we need to make the transit revolution real and fair in LA County and how do we get them?
•  What are the opportunities to increase housing opportunities for core transit users, to facilitate walking and cycling, and to pay for bus and rail operations?

Rye Baerg, SoCal Policy Manager, Safe Routes to School National Partnership
Autumn Bernstein, Executive Director, ClimatePlan
Raffi Hamparian, Director of Federal Affairs, LA Metro
Madeline Janis, National Policy Director, LA Alliance for a New Economy (LAANE)
Joan Ling, Real Estate Advisor and Urban Planning Policy Analyst
Hilary Norton, FAST (Fixing Angelenos Stuck in Traffic)
Kevin Ratner, Forest City
Tunua Thrash, West Angeles Community Development Corporation
Michael Turner, State Affairs, Metro

LA Metro Los Angeles County Supervisor Zev Yaroslavsky (11:30 am)
Keynote: Big Lessons from LA’s Transit Revolution

Lunch (noon)

Invocation: Rabbi Mark Diamond, American Jewish Committee
Senate Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg (12:30 pm)
Keynote: Sacramento’s Contribution to LA’s Transit Revolution

Dr. Robert Cervero (1:00 pm)
Keynote: Lessons for LA from Successful Cities around the World & LA’s Potential

Afternoon Topics 
Gloria Ohland and Denny Zane, Move LA - Moderators

LA Mayor Villaraigosa's Transit Corridors Cabinet Co-chair and LA Metro Board Member Mel Wilson,  and Cabinet Co-chair and President, LA Planning Commission William Roschen (1:30 pm)
The “DNA” of Transit Corridors

Priorities for the Mayor’s Transit Corridors Cabinet
Michael LoGrande, Director LA City Planning Department
Mercedes Marquez, General Manager, LA Housing Department and Deputy Mayor for Housing
Jaime de la Vega, General Manager, LA Department of Transportation
Valerie Lynn Shaw, LA Board of Public Works Commissioner
Cal Hollis, LA Metro Countywide Planning Department

Cecilia Estolano, ELP Advisors
Paul Habibi, Habibi Properties/UCLA Anderson School of Management
Dr. Manuel Pastor, Program for Environmental & Regional Equity (PERE), USC
Amanda Eaken, NRDC
Thomas Yee, Little Tokyo Services Center

Public Comments

Adjourn to Reception in Honor of LA City Councilman Bill Rosendahl (3:30 pm) Fred Harvey Room.

Donate Volunteer Find an Event


get updates