Move LA Team

Executive Director
310-310-2390 x 101
dennyzan[email protected]

Denny created Move LA in 2007 to bring together business, labor and environmental leaders and organizations with the goal of raising significant new funding for LA County’s transit system. This coalition helped lead the campaign for the Measure R sales tax, and proved to be a powerful force in getting Measure R on the 2008 ballot and winning its passage, with the result that LA has embarked on an ambitious build-out of its transportation system. Previously Denny served on the Santa Monica City Council, including one term as mayor, during which time he initiated the revitalization of the Third Street Promenade. He wrote much of the land use policy for Santa Monica’s downtown, emphasizing pedestrian amenities, mixed-use development, and effective transit access — before these policies became known as “smart growth.” Denny was also executive director of the Coalition for Clean Air, and began his career by founding Santa Monicans for Renters Rights in the late ’70s, a progressive community coalition that has held a city council majority in Santa Monica for 24 of the last 30 years.


Office Manager
310-310-2390 x 105
[email protected]

Marisa grew up near two busy freeways in a city in Southeast LA County that is heavily impacted by air pollution, and she is all too aware of the harm that our overdependence on cars has caused Southern California residents. She is asthmatic, and reducing the air pollution and traffic congestion that plagues Los Angeles by providing people with alternative transportation choices is an issue that is near and dear to her heart. Since joining the Move LA team her commitment to helping transform LA County’s transportation system has become significantly stronger, and she can’t wait to see what the future holds for communities like the one where she grew up.


Policy & Communications Director
310-310-2390 x 103
[email protected]

Gloria has worked on issues related to transit and transit-oriented development at the national and local levels for many years. She was a founding member of the Center for Transit-Oriented Development, which was funded by Congress to promote best practices in TOD; worked on the H+T (housing and transportation) affordability index now used by HUD to prioritize housing projects for funding; and she worked on an early Southern California demonstration project of the location efficient mortgage, which was the precursor to the H+T index. Since joining Move LA she has worked on implementing SB 375, which seeks to reduce GHG emissions by reducing driving, and on thinking through how we ensure the creation of affordable, livable, prosperous neighborhoods along the transit system we are building out with funding from the Measure R sales tax. Previously she was a vice president at the national nonprofit Reconnecting America, and has authored many publications on transit and TOD.


Deputy Director
310-310-2390 x 102
[email protected]

Beth is a seasoned coalition builder and campaign organizer with more than 25 years of experience in policy, advocacy and community organizing at the state and local levels. She has worked extensively on affordable housing, TOD and on implementing SB 375 through transportation and land use strategies that reduce driving and mitigate GHG emissions. She played a key role in developing and coordinating Housing LA’s work around the City of LA’s housing element, inclusionary zoning and the creation of a housing trust fund. As the former policy director at the nonprofit Livable Places, Beth developed a number of public education tools and in 2007 was awarded a Durfee Foundation Stanton Fellowship to study community visioning and civic engagement. Beth taught a course in the environment and society at Occidental College in 2009 and 2010. Beth has an degree in economics from the University of California at Davis.


Policy Analyst
310-310-2390 x 106
[email protected]

Though educated as an architect, Jerard has an abiding passion for transportation, and he is a transportation policy analyst and activist who has tracked issues at LA Met4ro for many years. He brings to the job extensive contacts in the advocacy world: He is currently co-chair of the Sierra Club Angeles Chapter Transportation Committee, a member of Metro’s Westside/Central Service Council and Citizen’s Advisory Council, and past co-chair of the Green LA Transportation Working Group. Jerard graduated from the Illinois Institute of Technology with a BA in Architecture, and when he’s not talking about transportation he’s thinking about urban design.


Board President: Marlene Grossman
– Move LA
Allan Alexander – Attorney and former mayor of Beverly Hills
Priscilla Cheng – LA County Federation of Labor
John Choi Former LA City Board of Public Works Commissioner
Darrell Clarke – Friends 4 Expo and Sierra Club
James De la Loza – AECOM
Jerry Givens – Parsons Brinckerhoff
Ron Green – AFSCME
Victor Griego – Diverse Strategies for Organizing
Art Hadnett – Stantec
James Hamlin – Jacobs
Jim Hilfenhaus – Democratic Party Activist
Richard Jackson – UCLA School of Public Health
David Jacot Los Angeles Department of Water & Power
Melody Kanschat – Former president and COO of the LA County Museum of Art
Richard Katz– Katz Mitchell Consulting
Hart Keeble – Ironworkers Local 416
Mark Kempton Skanska
Joan Ling
– Retired, former affordable housing developer and member of the board of commissioners of the Community Redevelopment Agency of the City of LA County
Eli Lipman – American Jewish Committee
Frank LopezSenior Policy Manager, LA Chamber
Alan Marks – Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy LLP
Wally Marks Walter N. Marks Realty Inc.
James Watt McCormick
– Subway to the Sea Coalition
Jerilyn Mendoza– Southern California Gas Company
Ron Miller – LA/OC Building & Construction Trades Council
Claudette Moody – Parsons Brinckerhoff
Kevin Norton – IBEW
Terry O’Day – Santa Monica City Councilmember
Francine Oschin – Valley Industry and Commerce Association
Jonathan Parfrey – Climate Resolve
Alex Pugh – Southern California Edison
Joyce Perkins – Co-Founder & Board Member, Los Angeles Neighborhood Initiative
Sergio Rascon – Labors Local 300
Nolan Rollins – Los Angeles Urban League
Dan Rosenfeld – George Crenshaw Development Company
Mike Schneider – HDR/Infraconsult
Daniel Tabor – Former mayor of the City of Inglewood
Dan Tenenbaum – Pacific Crest Realty
Tunua Thrash – West Angeles CDC
Johannes Van Tilburg – VTBS Architects
John Warfel – Metropolitan Pacific Capital

Move LA is a project of Community Partners.

Donate Volunteer Find an Event


get updates